Daily Archives: January 9, 2009

What I Wore Today (again)

This is what I wore when I went out tonight for a random bum session with the remaining male friends that weren’t in NS yet:

Photobucket

The yellow ’60s style dress I got from Shoppersville in Manila for about 400 pesos (SGD 12), which was really really worth it. I love how it’s made of this really polyester like material with yellow plastic pearlised buttons which makes it look authentically old. The same shop also sold ’70s maxi dresses for 700 pesos – which I regret not buying ): My vintage teal ’80s bag was from Santoki Vintage. Excuse the dodgy background.

Vintage Brooches

madmenchristina

By now I’m sure everyone has heard about Mad Men for it’s fantastic script writing and vintage fashion (+ the fantastically beautiful Christina Hendricks). Sadly I have yet to get hold of the actual show because I lack cable and Singapore TV sucks in general. This doesn’t mean however that I have to be out of the loop when it comes to imitating some of the ’50s fashion styles seen on the show. One of the easiest ways to doing this is to use vintage brooches (or brooches that are vintage-ly styled enough) which can be pinned on to plain high or boat necked tops/dresses.

Here are some details to look out for:

1) Rhinestones – the more the merrier

2) Gold plated or gold toned brooches

3) Symmetrically shaped brooches

4) or alternatively quirky brooches of unusual objects

..and here are some example from etsy:

from buyoldschool

from KreativeKrafter

from VermontJewelry

from VermontJewelry

from Fancifun