The Coral Sea

“Something beautiful is going on in the west coast, but not the sunsets or the beaches or even the Pacific Ocean, I’m talking about The Coral Sea. Like the vast and colorful vibe the name evokes, The Coral Sea’s music, full of depth and harmony, with such a genuine quality that it could only have been inspired by quiet moments alone in the car.”

I don’t think that I could come up with a better description for The Coral Sea than that one, especially with my extremely limited vocabulary of “awesome”, “amazing” and OCCASIONALLY “fabulous”. I just regret not listening to them more earlier. I have to admit, though… Up until recently, I was under the impression that the vocalist was female. And I call myself a fan! Embarrassing, I know.

I don’t know about anyone else, but they kind of remind me of Arcade Fire with Chris Garneau-esque vocals on some tracks in their first album.

For fans of: Sea Wolf, Say Hi To Your Mom, slightly feminine, beautiful vocals

It was hard picking out just a few sample songs because every track from both of their albums albums – Volcano and Heart and Firelight – are just SO GOOD.

Under the Westway
Look At Her Face
Ancient Modern People
I Know You’ll Find A Way
More Than You Know

Also, check out their MySpace!

Leave a Reply

